How can I get ILifetimeAware to work?

Sep 1, 2012 at 9:02 AM
Edited Sep 1, 2012 at 9:04 AM

I try to implement lifetime Management within my app and therefore write the following line: 
public class MainPageViewModel : NotifyPropertyChangedBase, INavigationAware, ILifetimeAware
But non of the functions OnExiting, OnResuming, OnSuspending get called.
Is there anything else I Need to do?

Sep 1, 2012 at 4:14 PM

I'd recommend looking at the LifetimeManagerFixture.cs in the framework source code on how to use this.

I'm still new to this framework, but it looks like you need to create a ILifeTimeAware class and register it with the LifeTimeManager class.

Sep 1, 2012 at 6:22 PM

Finally I was able to solve it - I really should learn more about MEF.
The solution is the following:
[ImportingConstructor]
public MainPageViewModel(INavigationManager navigationManager, ILifetimeManager lifetimeManager)

and then lifetimeManager.Register(this)

Sep 1, 2012 at 6:41 PM

Ok, it only solves half of the issue.
OnSuspending gets called, but not OnExiting and OnResuming...

Sep 1, 2012 at 8:28 PM
Edited Sep 1, 2012 at 8:28 PM

I got the OnSuspending and OnResuming to work fine, but I'm not sure how to simulate the OnExiting.

Here is my LifetimeAwareService Class:

public class LifetimeAwareService : ILifetimeAware
    {
        public LifetimeAwareService()
        {
        }

public Task OnExiting()
        {
            return Task.FromResult<bool>(true);
        }

public Task OnResuming()
        {
        }

public Task OnSuspending()
        {
        }
    }

And here is my AppBootstrapper:

public class AppBootstrapper : OkraBootstrapper
    {
        protected override void SetupServices()
        {
            base.SetupServices();

LifetimeAwareService ltService = new LifetimeAwareService();

LifetimeManager lifetimeMgr = new LifetimeManager();
            lifetimeMgr.Register(ltService);
        }
    }

Coordinator
Sep 2, 2012 at 11:43 AM