Binding to ViewModel in XAML rather than in the View

Feb 19, 2013 at 11:39 AM
Edited Feb 19, 2013 at 11:39 AM
Hello,

I am quite new to the Okra app framework (I've actually just moved from using MVVM Light) and I am finding it to be a very a nice framework and light to work with. I do however have quite a few preferences from MVVM Light where I would like to use for Okra. One of them is the ability to bind to the ViewModel in the XAML of the View. With MVVM Light in this case, you would set up the ViewModels in the Locator and then bind directly to the ViewModel instances inside the XAML of the View corr

Example:
DataContext="{Binding Main, Source={StaticResource Locator}}"
I am just wonder if something like that is possible? I've look through some really nice examples on here and I am only seeing the View's datacontext being binded in the View class.

I.e.
            if (_shellPage == null)
                _shellPage = new ShellPage {DataContext = this};
Looking forward to a helpful response.

Thanks
Feb 19, 2013 at 2:29 PM
Actually, after some digging around I can understand now that binding is done automatically, correct?
Coordinator
Feb 19, 2013 at 8:21 PM
Hi,

I'm pleased you have found the Okra App Framework for your Windows Store development. I realise there is a bit of a learning curve at the moment and hope to write some more complete documentation in the future.

Regarding your query, you are correct that the DataContext of the view is automatically set by the framework whenever you navigate. All you need to do is to add the [PageExport(...)] and [ViewModelExport(...)] attributes to the view and view-model respectively. Whenever you navigate to a new page, the framework will locate the correct view and view-model based upon the specified page name, set the DataContext of the view to the view-model, and display the page. As long as you add the attributes then everything else happens for you.